BVLGARI

The Origins

Descending from an ancient family of Greek silversmiths, Sotirio Bulgari, the company’s founder, manufactured precious silver objects. During the late 19th century, Sotirio moved to Italy and in 1884 opened his first shop in Via Sistina, Rome. In 1905, with the help of his sons Costantino and Giorgio, he inaugurated the shop in Via Condotti, which today remains Bulgari’s flagship store.

In the early 20th century the two brothers developed a deep interest and expertise in precious stones, jewels and watches, gradually taking over their father's role in the management of the business. The period immediately after the Second World War marked an important turning point in the history of Bulgari. Giorgio and Costantino decided to move away from the dominant disciplines of the French goldsmith school to create a unique style inspired by Greco-Roman classicism, the Italian Renaissance, and the 19th century Roman school of goldsmiths. By the 1950’s-60’s, the bold and innovative style of Bulgari had gained success within the jet set and movie world.
Powered by Leverket.com